Aharon Oren was born in Zwolle, The Netherlands, in 1952. He obtained his B.Sc. (1972) and M.Sc. degree (1974) (microbiology and biochemistry) from University of Groningen, and his Ph.D. degree (1979) from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He spent a post-doctoral period (1982-1984) at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and was appointed lecturer (1984), senior lecturer (1985), associate professor (1991) and professor (1996) of microbial ecology at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.



Among his functions in the past and present are: secretary (since 1994) of the International Committee on Systematics of Prokaryotes Subcommittee on Taxonomy of Halobacteriaceae: member of the International Committee on Systematics of Prokaryotes Subcommittee on the Taxonomy of Photosynthetic Prokaryotes, member of the editorial board of International Journal for Salt Lake Research, editor of FEMS Microbiology Letters (1994-present); Chairman (2002-2008) and Secretary/Treasurer (2008-2014) of the International Committee on Systematics of Prokaryotes; member of the executive committee (1999-2002), vice president (2002-2008), and president (2008-2014) of the International Society for Salt Lake Research; affiliate professor of George Mason University, Manassas, VA, USA (1999-2010); member of the editorial board (2001-2010) and managing editor (2010-present) of Extremophiles; associate editor (2001-2012) and editor-inchief (2012-present) of the International Journal of Systematic and Evolutionary Microbiology: member of the editorial review board of Archaea (2005-present). managing editor - Saline Systems (2005-2012), member of the editorial board of Aquatic Biosystems (2012-present), member of the editorial board of Life (2013present), and member of the editorial board (2009-2013) and handling editor (2014-present) of Journal of Biological Research Thessaloniki.

Prof. Oren was the recipient of the Moshe Shilo prize - the Israel Society for Microbiology for 1993, and of the Ulitzki prize for 2004 – the Israel Society for Microbiology, he was elected Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology in 2000, and he received an honorary doctorate from the University of Osnabrück, Germany, in 2010.